A Definative Guide To Worldwide DVD Regions

Views 4 Likes Comments Comment
Like if this guide is helpful

Worldwide Entertainment

A Definative Guide To DVD Regions 

PAL - Phase Alternating Line (Patented in 1963 and the first commercial application of the PAL system was in August 1967) - Different types use different video bandwidth and audio carrier specs. Common types are B, G and H; less common types include D, I, K, N and M.

SECAM - Système Électronique pour Couleur avec Mémoire (Developed in France. First used in 1967) - Different types use different video bandwidth and audio carrier specs. Types B and D usually used for VHF; types G, H, and K for UHF; types I, N, M, K1 and L for both VHF/UHF.

NTSC - National Television Standards Committee (In Use in the USA since 1954) - Only one type exists, known as NTSC M.  

DVD Regions by Country

The DVD region code identifies a DVD's compatibility with the players typically sold in a particular region.
The following graphic shows the approximate location of each region.

The majority of all current titles play only in one specific region unless otherwise noted. DVDs sold by Worldwide Entertainment are encoded for Region 2 or Region 0. Region 2 DVDs may not work on DVD players in other countries. ALL DVD's sold by Worldwide Entertainment are Original UK PAL Format, Region 2 or Region 0. We do not sell copies or cheap imports.
Region 2 discs are intended for use with standard DVD players in Europe. In most instances they can also be played on compatible "multi-region" DVD players (also known as "chipped" or "region-free" players). They also require an PAL-compatible television. PAL is the standard picture format in Europe, and differs from the NTSC format adopted in America and SECAM adopted in France. Region 2 DVDs are usually presented in PAL format, so you should ensure that your TV is capable of reading the PAL signal before purchasing Region 2 DVDs.
Regional Coding Enhancement (RCE) has been added by some film studios (specifically Warner and Columbia) to selected Region 2 DVDs, with the intention of preventing these discs from playing on some multi-region DVD players. We are therefore unable to guarantee that all Region 2 discs will be compatible with all multi-region players.

DVD Regions Country List 

0 - All Countries
DVD Will Play in All Countries using a PAL format or Compatible DVD Player & Television.

1 - US, US territories and Canada
American Samoa, Canada, Guam, Palau, Mariana Islands, Marshall Islands, Puerto Rico, Micronesia, United States, U.S. Virgin Islands

2 - UK, Europe, Japan, South Africa and Middle East
Albania, Andorra, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Vatican City, Yemen, Yugoslavia

3 - Southeast and East Asia
Cambodia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Phillipines, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam

4 - Australia, New Zealand, Central and South America
Antigua, Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Barbuda, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Falkland Islands, French Guiana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, New Guinea, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Trinidad, Tobago, Uruguay

5 - Former Soviet Union, Indian sub-continent, Africa, North Korea and Mongolia
Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Bangladesh, Belarus, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, India, Ivory Coast, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Pakistan, Russia, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sri Lanka, St. Helena, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Zambia, Zimbabwe

6 - China

7 - Reserved for future use

8 - International Territories (ships, planes etc)

Have something to share? Create your own guide... Write a guide
Explore more guides