Skip to main content

About Girls Aloud

Girls Aloud were a British pop group, comprising of five female singers: Cheryl Cole, Kimberley Walsh, Nicola Roberts, Sarah Harding and Nadine Coyle. They rose to fame after appearing on a televised talent show in 2002, in 'Popstars: The Rivals', produced by ITV. With a style of music that was mainly pop, the first single produced by Girls Aloud was 'Sound Of The Underground', which became Christmas number one in 2002. The song spent four weeks at the top of the UK's singles chart, and was certified platinum in March of the following year. Girls Aloud's success was evident: they managed to produce twenty consecutive top ten singles in the UK charts, with four of these singles reaching the coveted number one spot. In addition, the group released six albums, with two of these reaching number one in the album charts. There is no denying that they have been one of the most successful groups to come out of a reality television show. In March 2013, Girls Aloud announced that they were to split. Between 1992 and 2013, however, they had managed to amass five Brit Award nominations, with a Best Single win for 'The Promise'. They also gained notable mentions in three editions of the Guinness Book of Records, as 'Most Successful Reality TV Group' in 2007, 'Most Consecutive Top Ten Entries in the UK by a Female Group' in 2008, and 'Most Successful Reality TV Group' in 2011. Girls Aloud singles and albums are available to buy in various formats, with signed copies also available. DVDs of their tours and more can also be found - along with music from the solo careers that some of the girls have pursued.