Modern UK Silver Hallmarks in Current Use

Views 180 Likes Comments Comment
Like if this guide is helpful
There are several ebay guides about old silver hallmarks, but little about hallmarks currently in use so I thought I'd fill the gap...

UK hallmarks are assigned by the Assay Offices, of which there are currently four: London, Sheffield, Birmingham and Edinburgh. Modifications to the 1973 Hallmarking Act in 1999 changed the way articles made of precious metals are hallmarked. The UK hallmark now comprises a minimum of three compulsory symbols: a makers (or sponsors) mark; a purity mark; and the assay office mark.

The compulsory Assay Office marks appear as follows:

London: A leopard's head

Sheffield: A rose

Birmingham: An anchor

Edinburgh: A castle with 3 turrets

The compulsory purity marks appear as follows:

An oval disc with one of the following numbers inside:

800 for 80% silver content (often called Continental Silver)

925 for 92.5% silver content (often called Sterling Silver)

958 for 95.8% silver content (often called Britannia Silver)

999 for 99.9% silver content (often called Fine Silver)

The compulsory maker's or sponsor's mark vary and appear as one more letters within a shield.

There are other marks (known as Voluntary Marks) that can be applied to the item. The following list explains some of them:

Date mark: Curently a single letter within an octagonal shape. The letter for 2007 is a lower-case 'h'

Common Control Mark: A set of scales with a purity number (eg 925) set in the middle. This is an international mark.

Commemorative Marks: These vary, depending on the occasion (eg Queen's Head for her Golden Jubilee)

Hope this was helpful! If so, please vote below!

Have something to share, create your own guide... Write a guide
Explore more guides