The Complete Philip Pullman book list

Views 7 Likes Comments Comment
Like if this guide is helpful

Philip Pullman, award-winning, bestselling fantasy author

Philip Pullman is the award-winning author of the His Dark Materials ( Northern Lights / The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife & The Amber Spyglass) and many other fiction and non-fiction books, plus 2 plays. He has a great interest in the Victorian era, and many of his book are set in that period of time.

His first published work was The Haunted Storm, which became joint winner of the New English Library's Young Writer's Award in 1972.

Here is a list of Pullman's books:

Non-series books

  • 1972 The Haunted Storm
  • 1976 Galatea
  • 1982 Count Karlstein
  • 1987 How to be Cool
  • 1989 Spring-Heeled Jack
  • 1990 The Broken Bridge
  • 1992 The White Mercedes
  • 1993 The Wonderful Story of Aladdin and the Enchanted Lamp
  • 1995 Clockwork, or, All Wound Up
  • 1995 The Firework-Maker's Daughter
  • 1998 Mossycoat
  • 1998 The Butterfly Tattoo (re-issue of The White Mercedes)
  • 1999 I was a Rat! or The Scarlet Slippers
  • 2000 Puss in Boots: The Adventures of That Most Enterprising Feline
  • 2004 The Scarecrow and his Servant

The New-Cut Gang

  • 1994 Thunderbolt's Waxwork
  • 1995 The Gasfitter's Ball

Sally Lockhart

  • 1985 The Ruby in the Smoke
  • 1986 The Shadow in the North (first published as The Shadow in the Plate)
  • 1990 The Tiger in the Well
  • 1994 The Tin Princess

His Dark Materials

  • 1995 Northern Lights, retitled The Golden Compass in the US
  • 1997 The Subtle Knife
  • 2000 The Amber Spyglass

Companion Books

  • 2003 Lyra's Oxford
  • 2008 Once Upon a Time in the North 
  • 2009 (According to Pullman himself, Although this could change) The Book of Dust (not yet published)


  • 1990 Frankenstein
  • 1992 Sherlock Holmes and the Limehouse Horror

A film adaptation of The Golden Compass, Book 1 in the His Dark Materials trilogy, will be released in December, 2007. A television adaptation of The Ruby in the Smoke, Book 1 in the Sally Lockhart series, was televised in late December 2006. There are plans to adapt the other 3 Sally Lockhart novels for television.

Have something to share, create your own guide... Write a guide
Explore more guides