Got one to sell?

Got one to sell?

Get it in front of 17+ million UK buyers.

Nikon AF Camera Lens

There are many different types of Nikon AF camera lenses for 35mm DSLR (digital single lens reflex) cameras. These lenses use Nikon's famous F-mount that was introduced in 1959. Nikon manufactures its lenses under the Nikkor brand, which was founded in 1932.

Does your Nikon camera have a built-in focus motor?

AF stands for auto focus, however not all AF lenses work in the same way with all makes and models of Nikon cameras. This is because Nikon produces two types of DSLR camera .

Some Nikon cameras have a focus motor that is built into the main body of the camera, others don't. In order to auto focus, cameras that don't have built-in focus motors require AF lenses that have built-in motors.

Lenses with built-in motors

If your camera doesn't have a built-in focus motor then you'll need a Nikon lens with a motor. There are two types of Nikon lens with a built-in motor, an AF-S or an AF-P lens.

AF-S stands for 'Auto Focus Silent'. Nikon has been producing AF-S lenses since 1996. AF-S lenses are accurate and quick to focus. They are also very quiet. They are powered by Nikon's Silent Wave Motor (SWM).

Nikon has been producing AF-P lenses since 2015. They are smoother and quieter than AF-S lenses and great for shooting video with your DSLR camera. AF-P lenses use the Pulse or Stepping autofocus motor.

Nikkor lenses

If your camera body has a built-in focus motor then you won't need to buy an AF-P or AF-S lens, as you won't need a lens with a motor too. This means you can choose a regular AF Nikkor lens.

There is a wide range of different Nikkor lenses available, including macro, zoom, fisheye and telephoto lenses.

You can choose to use a Nikkor lens on a camera without a built-in motor, however this means that you will have to focus the lens manually.

Tell us what you think - opens in new window or tab