Skip to main content

About Black Sabbath

At their inception, Black Sabbath sounded like no other band on earth. They married the super heavy blues riffs of Led Zeppelin with horror movie imagery to create a whole new musical genre. The band's heavy metal sound was seized upon as an influence by countless other groups, who progressively sped up the music year by year until the genre finally hit the buffers with ultra fast thrash metal at the end of the eighties. At this point a new wave of stoner metal bands including Kyuss and Monster Magnet went back to the source, digging up and developing the slow, "so heavy it hurts" Sabbath sound for a new generation. The original Black Sabbath line up comprised Ozzy Osbourne (vocals), Tony Iommi (guitar), Geezer Butler (bass) and Bill Ward (drums). Together they cut five of the best albums of the seventies in any genre of music including Paranoid (1970), Master of Reality (1971), Volume 4 (1972), Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (1973) and Sabotage (1975). Towards the end of the decade the group's drug problems started to impact on their creativity and cohesion which ended up with Ozzy Osbourne being fired in 1979. A new line up was then created including the former Rainbow vocalist, Ronnie James Dio. This version of Black Sabbath released two further classic albums, Heaven and Hell (1980) and Mob Rules (1981) in a higher tempo style more in keeping with eighties heavy metal. Dio then left to form his own successful self-titled metal outfit.