Skip to main content

Designed and created by the Royal Mint, British coins feature interesting images and a colourful history. They have been in existence since the 17th century. The standard denomination is the pounds sterling, further divided into shillings and pence with numerous changes through the centuries.

Many other coins are no longer minted and treasured by collectors, such as the farthing and halfpenny. The Crown is still minted but only on special occasions. British coins tell a fascinating story of English history.