Before closing your account, consider contacting us first. We don't want to see you go, and we'll do everything we can to sort out any issues you have.
If you still want to close your account, make sure:
- All your fees and any other selling costs are paid, and your available funds is zero
- You don't have open bids on an item
- You don't have any outstanding payouts to be processed to your bank account
- You’ve cancelled all your subscriptions
If you have any suspensions or restrictions active on your account, or if your account doesn't currently meet our minimum seller performance standards, you'll need to contact us in order to close your account.
What you need to know about closing your account
When you submit a request to close your account, we'll send an email to your registered email address and to your eBay Messages within 24 hours letting you know we've received it. Generally, it takes 30 days to close an account from the date we receive a request. However, if you've bought or sold items in the 30 days prior to submitting your request, we'll keep your account open for 60 days from receiving your request so any outstanding sales or purchases can be completed, and so we can meet our commitments to all buyers and sellers under the eBay Money Back Guarantee.
After the 30-day or 60-day period (depending on whether you've bought or sold in the past 30 days) your account will be permanently closed and your data will be deleted. If you change your mind and decide to keep your account, you have 7 days from the account closure to request that your account be reopened. We can reopen your account only if it was in good standing when you closed it.
Personal data on closed accounts
The right to have your personal data (including personal information) deleted depends on the privacy regulations in place which vary by country and region. The General Data Protection Regulation ("GDPR") identifies the right to have your personal data deleted, this right is known as the "right to erasure". At eBay, we extend the right to delete your data to all users, regardless of a country or region's regulation.
When you send a request to close your account, your personal data will also be deleted as long as your account is in good standing.
eBay deletes personal data using approved methods such as encryption, pseudonymisation and aggregation. For your part, you'll need to clear cache, cookies and history from each browser you used to sign in to your eBay account. If you downloaded any eBay apps on any of your mobile devices, you'll need to delete those too.
Unless you've reconsidered and would like to keep your account, and as long as your account is in good standing and none of the exceptions listed below apply, your account will be closed and your data will be deleted within 30 to 60 days of receiving your request. To keep your account, your account must have been in good standing at the time your closure request was submitted. Suspended or restricted user accounts will be closed, and we’re unable to allow you to reopen the account.
When we've closed your account we'll let you know by sending an email to your registered email address. If you'd like to use eBay again, you'll need to create a new account.
Closing account and personal data deletion exceptions
We can't close an account and/or delete associated data if:
- You owe eBay money
- You have pending transactions (i.e. open bids or pending payments from buyers, outstanding payments to be processed to your bank account)
- Data related to an account needs to be retained to detect, prevent, mitigate or investigate fraudulent or illegal activities
- Data related to an account needs to be retained for a purpose required by applicable law
- There is a public health issue
- A subpoena or other court or legal order compelling eBay to retain certain data is in place
If data can't be deleted for any reason, it will be retained in accordance with our Privacy Notice.
Please contact us for help closing the account of a deceased eBay member.
Closing your account will result in the closure of all eBay businesses associated with that account which rely on the same identity – for example, the eBay Partner Network (EPN).