Each time you buy or sell something, you have an opportunity to leave feedback about your experience. Feedback consists of a positive, negative, or neutral rating, along with a short comment and the option to upload up to 5 images. Feedback helps buyers and sellers build their reputation on eBay and this is why "verified purchase" is displayed next to feedback. This information is available in each member's feedback profile, and helps eBay users buy and sell with confidence.
If you’ve recently left feedback and you’d like to change it, you can find out how to add follow-up comments or request a feedback revision in our article on viewing and changing feedback left for sellers.
Viewing a feedback profile
You can view a member’s feedback profile - including your own - by selecting the number in brackets next to their username. This number is their current feedback score.
On the feedback profile page, you'll see a member’s:
- Overall feedback score
- Percentage of positive ratings
- Recently received feedback (including comments and images)
- Detailed seller ratings
- eBay registration date
You can also find a link to contact the member, and if the member is a seller, a link to view other items they are selling.
Once you reach a feedback score of 10, you’ll earn a yellow star which is displayed on your profile. As your feedback score increases, the star changes color, all the way to a silver shooting star for a score above 1,000,000.
Making your feedback public or private
We strongly encourage everyone to keep all their feedback information public. It helps you earn the trust of other eBay members, increasing the likelihood that they’ll trade with you.
If you want to sell on eBay, your feedback must be visible to everyone.
If you choose to make your feedback private, you won’t be able to sell items on eBay and the feedback you’ve left and received will be hidden from other members. However, your overall number of positive, neutral, and negative feedback ratings will still be displayed.
Here’s how to change who can see your feedback:
- Go to your feedback profile - opens in new window or tab.
- Scroll down to the All received Feedback section and set the toggle to either Visible to everyone or Hide.
Frequently asked questions
If you've successfully completed a transaction with another eBay member and they haven't left you feedback, it's fine to send a message as a reminder. Remember though, leaving feedback is completely voluntary.
You can respond to the feedback and tell your side of the story. As a seller, you can also send a limited number of requests for buyers to revise their feedback.
If a member has violated one of our feedback policies, you can ask us to have it removed. Once we review it, we may remove the entire feedback, or just the element that violates the policy, i.e. the comment, image or rating.
In most cases you can't change feedback once you've submitted it. However, if you left negative or neutral feedback for a seller and want to change it to positive feedback, the seller may be able to send you a feedback revision request. If the seller is unable to send a feedback revision request, you can leave a clarifying follow-up comment to your original feedback.