Business policies are important because they let buyers know how they can pay you, how long it will take you to post an item, the delivery services you offer – including postage and packaging costs – and whether or not you accept returns.
Rather than setting your preferences in these areas on a listing-by-listing basis, you can streamline the process by creating templates. These templates can then be applied when creating new listings, or even used to update multiple existing listings.
If your business policy preferences vary depending on what you're selling, you can create a range of different templates. This gives you the flexibility to apply different payment, postage, or returns details depending on what you're listing. To start using business policies, you'll need to opt in - opens in new window or tab.
Creating business policies
You can create and manage policies from the business policies dashboard - opens in new window or tab in the Account section of My eBay.
If you've listed an item in the last 90 days, you'll see some ready-made policies based on your previous payment, postage, and returns preferences. You can also create your own policy templates by following these steps:
- From the Create policy dropdown, select a policy type.
- Give the policy a descriptive name and add a brief description.
- Add your policy details and select Save.
Updating business policies
You can edit, copy, reassign, or delete your policies whenever you choose. If you update a policy, any listings using that policy will be automatically updated with your changes.
Keep in mind that there are a few restrictions on revising listings, so it may not be possible to update all your listings with the new policy. In this case, only listings that can be updated with the new information will be changed, and listings that can't be edited will remain unchanged.
If you want to delete a policy that is currently being used in any active or scheduled listings, you'll need to reassign new policies to these listings first.
If you use a particular business policy more than others, set it as your default by selecting Set as default from the dropdown menu. The default policy is preselected automatically when you create a new listing, but you can always select a different policy before completing your listing.
Give your policies descriptive names such as "Postage policy - International" so you can easily find the one you need.
Frequently Asked Questions
If you haven't opted in to Business Policies, we create payment, shipping and returns policies in the background each time an item is listed for sale. These remain hidden until you opt in, when they become available for you to manage. You’ll see a policy for each set of payment, shipping and returns terms that you've used recently.
Yes. Select Clean up policies on the Manage business policies page - opens in new window or tab. If you have any policies that aren't being used in active listings, or haven't been used recently, we'll remove them.
Yes, you can override the shipping cost for individual listings without creating a different shipping policy. When you create the listing, next to the dropdown box where you select the shipping policy, select Edit shipping cost for this listing only.
If you change one of your payment, shipping or returns policies, we’ll update all the items associated with that policy, to use your new terms. However, if the listing is restricted so that it can't be revised, changes to payment, shipping and returns terms won’t be allowed. In that case, the restricted listings will stay associated with your original policy, and we'll automatically create a new copy with your changes which will apply to your unrestricted listings.
You can opt out any time by selecting the Opt out link on the Manage business policies page - opens in new window or tab. Your active listings won't be affected, but if you want to make changes to payment, shipping and returns terms, you’ll need to do that individually on each listing in future. You can also opt back in to Business policies at any time. The policies you’ve already created will still be there, ready for you to use again.
Usually this means there are large numbers of business policies created in the background already associated with your account, and our automated processes were not able to clean them up. Please contact our customer services team for help.