If at all possible, try to avoid cancelling a transaction because you don't have the item to send – it's considered a transaction defect and may affect your seller performance level. The buyer will still be able to leave you negative or neutral feedback about the transaction.
Cancel a transaction
You can cancel a transaction as long as:
- You haven't sent the item yet
- The buyer hasn't asked us to step in and help because they didn't receive the item
- You haven't opened an unpaid item case
You can cancel a transaction by selecting the button below. After you cancel, we'll let the buyer know. If they've already paid, they'll get a refund.
You can also cancel a transaction from Seller Hub, see the instructions below to find out how.
How to cancel a transaction in Seller Hub
You can cancel a transaction up to 30 days after a sale, even if your buyer has already paid.
What happens after you cancel a transaction
If the buyer paid using PayPal, a full refund will be issued automatically.
If the buyer used another payment method, they'll be asked to confirm that they received their refund before the cancellation is complete.
Once the buyer has been refunded, you'll receive a final value fee credit.
For more information on refunds, see our page on managing returns, missing items, and refunds.
Getting a final value fee credit
To receive a final value fee credit, the cancellation must be completed.
If the buyer paid using PayPal, the refund is complete when their account is refunded. If they paid using any other method, the refund will be considered complete when they confirm they’ve received their money back.
We'll credit the final value fee to your account 7 to 10 days after the cancellation request is complete. Learn more about final value fee credits.